The Jury of the 16th Epifanio Lantigua Prize 2019 was presented

The Dominican Tourism Press Association (ADOMPRETUR) presented the jury for the 2019 version of the Epifanio Lantigua Prize for Tourist Journalism (PEL), at the Andromeda Hall of the Barceló Santo Domingo hotel. The deadline to deliver tourist journalism works will expire on Monday, October 7.

Premio Epifanio Lantigua 1
The jury of the 16th Prize for Tourist Journalism, Epifanio Lantigua. From left to right: José Rafael Sosa, Napoleón de la Cruz, Félix Almonte, Tony Pichardo, José Antonio Aybar, César Pérez, Bolívar Troncoso, Millizen Uribe, José María Reyes, Marivell Contreras, Luis José Chávez, Roberto Henríquez, José Mármol and Luis Felipe Aquino.

The outgoing president of ADOMPRETUR, Luis José Chávez and the elected president, José María Reyes, welcomed two new members of the jury: journalist and writer Emilia Pereyra, winner of the 2018 National Journalism Prize; and Félix Almonte, director of the School of Communication of the Autonomous University of Santo Domingo. Millizen Uribe, former secretary general of ADOMPRETUR, will be director of the Prize, replacing José María Reyes, and will continue as a member of the jury. The jury list is headed by journalist and writer José Rafael Sosa, who was ratified as president.

The bases of the 16th Prize can be read on the page Professional journalists with works on tourism and related topics in any journalistic genre can participate in the contest, including photographs, documentaries, special television programmes and YouTube contents, broadcast in the period between October 20, 2018 and September 30, 2019.

The other members are writer and poet José Mármol, vice president of Communications of Banco Popular; Andrés Marranzini, executive vice president of Asonahores; Roberto Henríquez, president of the Santo Domingo Hotel Association (AHSD); Marivell Contreras, journalist and former president of Acroarte; Luis Felipe Aquino, president of the Bolsa Turística del Caribe (BTC) and dean of the UNAPEC tourism school and journalist Napoleón De La Cruz, press and public relations director of the Ministry of Tourism.

Also are part of the jury, journalist José Antonio Aybar, former president of Acroarte and art and entertainment editor of the newspaper El Nacional; Cesar Pérez, sociologist, writer and professor at INTEC; Bolívar Troncoso, expert in ecological and sustainable tourism and director of the tourism school of the O&M University; Simón Suárez, vice president of the Punta Cana Group and former president of Asonahores; Tony Pérez, expert in investigative journalism and professor at UASD; and Luis José Chávez, president of the Ibero-American Forum of Tourism Journalists (FIPETUR) who returns to the jury after completing his term as president of ADOMPRETUR.

The elected president of ADOMPRETUR, José María Reyes, underlined that in its 16 years of existence the Epifanio Lantigua Prize helped to have very close ties with tourism, the country’s main business, and Dominican society. He invited the country’s communicators to present their work to compete in the various categories of the Prize.

Chavez highlighted the support of the Ministry of Tourism, Occidental Hotels, Barceló Hotels, Banco Popular Dominicano, Civil Aviation Institute (IDAC), CICOM agency, and the Hotel Association of Santo Domingo (AHSD), among other sponsors, to which will be added hotel chains that are currently in the process of entering the 2019 PEL support platform.